Fundraising volunteer Martha is an award winner

Martha McGrath, the Chair of our Newry fundraising committee, has received a Macmillan National Volunteer Award, after helping raise more than £1.3 million for local people affected by cancer over the past 16 years.

When I was looking after my Aunt, who had terminal cancer, I felt so isolated and lonely.  I would have loved to have someone I could talk to.

I was invited to a Macmillan event, where I met a man who had been helped so much by his Macmillan nurse.  She’d helped get him a suit, when he lost weight.  More than that, she’d kept him going.  He was in no doubt of that and neither was I.  That’s when I knew I wanted to support Macmillan.  And I’ve never looked back.

Over the last 16 years, I and my fellow committee members have tried our hand at all sorts of fundraising feats.

Last year, we organised a Kube challenge event, based on the ITV quiz show, and raised £20,000 in one night.

I agreed to become Committee Chair but we really are a team and I’m proud to say that we have become (or so they tell me) Macmillan’s biggest and most successful committee in Northern Ireland.

That’s why, when I was nominated for the Richard Hambro Award at the recent Macmillan Volunteers’ Conference in Hinckley, Leicestershire, I said it was really a team award. It’s named after one of Macmillan’s treasurers and is for individuals who inspire others to make a difference.

There are so many great volunteers who give up so much of their time and for so many different reasons.

No matter how little, or how much you do, as a Macmillan volunteer you can be sure you are helping people living with cancer.  That’s what I tell all our volunteers and we are always on the lookout for new committee members and new fundraising ideas.

 If you would like to find out more about fundraising for Macmillan, contact Lisa McGrogan at emcgrogan@macmillan.org.uk or our Fundraising Support Centre on 0300 1000 200.

Leave a Reply

